Connect with us


IPL 2019: Chennai Super Kings – Strengths, question marks and best XI

IPL 2019: Chennai Super Kings

Can CSK guard their crown in IPL 2019 and become the main side to win consecutive titles twice.

With the twelfth release of the IPL starting on March 23, shielding Champions Chennai Super Kings will look start with a triumph against Royal Challengers Bangalore in Chennai. The three-time IPL champions will firearm for a record fourth title in IPL 2019.

With nearly a similar squad that helped them lift the trophy in their rebound battle last season, CSK will seek after comparable outcomes in IPL 2019 too. With MS Dhoni driving the way, it stays to be checked whether they can rehash their fantasy rebound and become the main side to win consecutive titles twice.

Here is a gander at the quality and shortcomings of the CSK squad.


MS Dhoni (C, WK), Suresh Raina, Faf du Plessis, M Vijay, Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Billings, Mitchell Santner, David Willey, Dwayne Bravo, Shane Watson, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir, Kedar Jadhav, Ambati Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh, Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Karn Sharma, Dhruv Shorey, N Jagadeesan, Shardul Thakur, Monu Kumar, Chaitanya Bishnoi.

Care Staff:

Stephen Fleming-Head Coach

Mike Hussey – Batting Coach

Lakshmipathy Balaji – Bowling Coach

Eric Simons – Bowling advisor

Tommy Simsek – Physio

Gregory King – Trainer


As has been the situation with CSK from the start, the batting is verifiably CSK’s greatest quality. In Watson and Rayudu, they have a set up opening mix that can take advantage of the powerplay. When they are trailed by Raina and Dhoni, two of the group’s most predictable players, there is no worry at the best.

In the center request, their adaptability is a major quality for the side as they have an assortment of all-rounders and relying upon the conditions, they can pick and pick the players they need to field in the beginning XI. In Dwayne Bravo and Mohit Sharma, they have two Purple Cap victors, who are reliable wicket-takers and have a huge amount of experience.

Experience is another huge favorable position of CSK. In addition to the fact that they have an accomplished squad with regards to T20s, however a great deal of them have played with one another a ton too. So everybody knows their job in the side, which is a major lift, that relatively few sides can flaunt.

Question marks:

The one major issue for CSK is that the side is overflowing with all-rounders and it stays to be seen where they fit them all in. With Mitchell Santner, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Kedar Jadhav, David Willey and Shane Watson in the side, there are a lot of alternatives and it will be an issue of finding the correct job for the correct player.

Could you truly play two remaining arm spinners who can likewise bat in a similar side? Would you be able to pick two all-rounders who play out a similar job?

The other serious issue, similar to the case, last season is the bowling. While the option of Mohit Sharma adds some genuinely necessary experience to the bowling unit, there is as yet an absence of value quick bowlers, who can convey reliably. With Ngidi harmed, the issue is featured.

There are a great deal of spinners yet beside Imran Tahir and Karn Sharma, there aren’t any wrist spinners, who are extremely popular in T20s. So it will intrigue see CSK’s turn technique particularly with a few finger spinners in the squad.

Forecast: With a settled squad, wounds are the main thing hindering from advancing into the playoffs and seeking a record fourth IPL title.

Best XI:

Shane Watson (F), Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (C, WK), Kedar Jadhav, Dwayne Bravo (F), Ravindra Jadeja, David Willey (F), Deepak Chahar, Mohit Sharma, Imran Tahir (F)

CSK’s installations:

23 March: CSK versus RCB

26 March – DC versus CSK

31 March – CSK versus RR

3 April – MI versus CSK

6 April – CSK versus KXIP

9 April – CSK versus KKR

11 April – RR versus CSK

14 April – KKR versus CSK

17 April – SRH versus CSK

21 April – RCB versus CSK

23 April – CSK versus SRH

26 April – CSK versus MI

1 May – CSK versus DC

5 May – KXIP versus CSK


2008: Runners-up

2009: second

2010: Winner

2011: Winner

2012: Runners-up

2013: Runners-up

2014: third

2015: Runners-up

2016: Suspended

2017: Suspended

2018: Winner

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket